top of page
Enfants dans la bibliothèque

Educate, empower, transform

haut depage

Our actions

Jordan

Refugees, Resilience and Prospects for the Future at Amman, Jordan

Duration: 2023-2024
Budget 2023: 500 K€

The project aims to provide refugees with a dignified, decent and integrated life in Jordan in the first instance. Then, with the help of the UNHCR, it accompanies these people by training them to make their migration project or their return to their country of origin possible.

 

Two local organizations (the Jesuit Centre, established in Amman since 1989 and the Jesuit Refugee Service established in Amman since 2008) have decided to join forces and skills to respond to this double challenge for refugees: to rebuild themselves psychologically, socially and intellectually and, on the basis of this human and intellectual baggage, to rebuild their lives in their country of origin or elsewhere.

The project brings together Jordanians and non-Jordanians, residents and refugees, migrant and established workers, Muslims and Christians, women and men to teach them to know, respect, appreciate each other and live together. This learning will enable the most excluded to discover their potential, regain self-confidence and face their future lives with hope and determination.

 

Learning to live together and to be open to others is a priority for the Middle Eastern society. This project aims to contribute to this by promoting learning and the organization of cultural and sporting events where young people can assert themselves, develop and rebuild.

Jordanie
Syrie

Syria

Community center in the devastated Midan district of Aleppo.

Duration: 2023
2023 budget: €40,000

Since the end of the fighting in Aleppo, the inhabitants of Midan have helped to develop social projects involving the various communities. The neighborhood quickly became a center of reference by also developing recreational and educational activities. Thanks to these programs and training, we are today witnessing the successful integration of several Christian and Muslim communities, which is still quite exceptional in Aleppo.

 

The project consists of purchasing and rehabilitating a building in a war-torn neighborhood.

 

The project team helps rebuilding the life of the neighborhood by restarting useful activities for the economic and human development of the inhabitants. All faith communities in Aleppo are invited to 

 take part in the project and to rebuild links between people regardless of their faith or origin.

 

English, music and computer classes are provided for children and vocational training that meets the needs of the neighborhood is provided for adults.

 

Social assistance is provided to the families most affected by the conflict.

A mental health component contributes to recovery from war trauma.

Training and peace education workshops are organized to encourage coexistence between people of different religions and make it an example for the city of Aleppo.

Irak

Iraq

Training of young people for peace and dialogue (Kurdistan and Iraq)

The project helps to promote social cohesion and peaceful coexistence in Iraq through dialogue and training.

 

It focusses on different target groups: children and adolescents, youth activists who wish to engage in peace dialogue within their communities, adult community members who have been affected by violence and trauma, community and religious leaders.

Duration: 2023-2024
2023 budget: €400,000

The project provides participants with information on human rights and the importance of tolerance and dialogue for a democratic and peaceful society, support the creation of a network of young activists and empower them to become active in their communities.

 

It facilitates the creation of meeting spaces for members of communities affected by violence and trauma.

Capacity Building for Trauma Therapists and Counselors in Northern Iraq

The project is assisting survivors of serious human rights violations in Iraq, Kurdistan-Iraq, and Syria, including victims of torture, genocide, political persecution, domestic and gender-based violence or terrorist attacks.

 

Twenty-five local professionals with training in psychology will be trained to provide appropriate therapeutic support to traumatized individuals and their families and to facilitate their reintegration into a non-violent society.

Duration: 2023-2024
2023 budget: €50,000

Six other participants, who have already completed previous training in trauma therapy, accompany the new training group as co-trainers/facilitators and will thus acquire in-depth knowledge and skills in the field.

Kurdistan

Kurdistan

Psycho-social assistance, education and vocational training for Yezidi genocide survivors (Governorate of Dohuk-Iraqi Kurdistan).

The project aims to defend and restore the dignity of displaced persons and refugees, to support the most vulnerable among them, and to give them hope for a better future.

 

The project focuses on Yezidi survivors of the August 2014 genocide in Iraq's Nineveh Plain. They took refuge in Kurdistan, particularly in the town of Sharya and its seven surrounding villages.

 

A voluntary, safe and dignified return to Sinjar, their region of origin remains uncertain.

Duration: 2023-2024
Budget 2023: 500

The project consists of three main programs that comprehensively address some of the urgent needs of survivors:

(1) visits to families outside the camps, emergency financial assistance, food aid, legal advice and screening for mental health problems;

 

(2) a structured non-formal education program designed to help young people in critical stages of their schooling and to give a boost to very young children in their education;

 

(3) an adult education and vocational training program to strengthen financial autonomy and psychosocial support for women.

top of page
Enfants dans la bibliothèque

Eduquer, responsabiliser, transformer

haut depage

Nos Actions

Jordanie

Personnes réfugiées, résilience et perspectives d'avenir à Amman

Durée : 2023-2024
Budget 2023 : 500 K€

Le projet vise à assurer aux personnes réfugiées une vie digne, décente et la plus intégrée possible en Jordanie dans un premier temps. Dans un second temps, avec l’aide du UNHCR, il accompagne ces personnes en les formant pour rendre possible leur projet de migration en Occident ou leur retour dans leur pays d’origine quand c’est possible.
 
Deux organisations locales (le Jesuit Centre, établi à Amman depuis 1989 et le Jesuit Refugee Service établi à Amman depuis 2008) ont décidé d’unir leurs forces et compétences pour répondre à ce double défi pour les réfugiés : se reconstruire psychologiquement, socialement et intellectuellement et, sur base de ce bagage humain et intellectuel, refaire leur vie dans leur pays d’origine ou ailleurs.
 

Le projet réunit des Jordaniens et des non-Jordaniens, des résidents et des réfugiés, des travailleurs migrants ou établis, des musulmans et des chrétiens, des femmes et des hommes pour leur apprendre à se connaître, à se respecter, à s’apprécier et à vivre ensemble. Cet apprentissage permettra aux plus exclus de découvrir leur potentiel, de reprendre confiance en eux et d’affronter leur vie future avec espoir et détermination.
 
L’apprentissage du vivre ensemble et de l’ouverture aux autres est une priorité pour la société moyen-orientale de demain. Ce projet veut y contribuer en promouvant l’apprentissage et l’organisation d’événements culturels et sportifs où les jeunes peuvent s’affirmer, s’épanouir et se reconstruire.

Jordanie
Syrie

Syrie

Implantation d’un centre communautaire dans le quartier dévasté de Midan (Alep)

Durée : 2023
Budget 2023 : 40 K€

Depuis la fin des combats à Alep, les habitants de Midan ont contribué à développer des projets sociaux mêlant les diverses communautés. Le quartier est devenu rapidement un centre de référence en développant également des activités récréatives et d’éducation. Grâce à ces programmes et aux formations, nous assistons aujourd’hui à l'intégration réussie de plusieurs communautés chrétiennes et musulmanes, fait encore assez exceptionnel à Alep.
 
Le projet consiste à acheter et à réhabiliter un local dans un quartier ravagé par la guerre.
 
L’équipe du projet souhaite en faire un lieu de reconstruction de la vie du quartier en relançant des activités nécessaires au développement économique et humain des habitants. Toutes les communautés confessionnelles d’Alep seront invitées à

prendre part au projet et à reconstruire des liens entre les personnes quelle que soit leur condition ou origine.

 

Des cours d’anglais, de musique et d’informatique seront dispensés aux enfants et des formations professionnelles répondant aux besoins du quartier aux adultes.
 
Une aide sociale sera consacrée aux familles les plus touchées par le conflit.
 
Un volet de santé mentale permettra de contribuer à la guérison de traumatismes de guerre.
 
Des ateliers de formation et d’éducation à la paix seront organisés pour encourager la coexistence entre personnes de religions différentes et en faire un exemple pour la ville 

Irak

Irak

Formation des jeunes à la paix et au dialogue (Kurdistan et Irak)

Le projet contribuera à promouvoir la cohésion sociale et la coexistence pacifique en Irak par le dialogue et la formation.
 
Il se concentrera sur différents groupes cibles : les enfants et les adolescents, les jeunes militants qui souhaitent engager un dialogue de paix au sein de leur communauté, les membres adultes de la communauté qui ont été touchés par la violence et les traumatismes ainsi que les dirigeants communautaires et religieux.
 

Durée : 2023-2024
Budget 2023 : 400 K€

Le projet fournira aux participants des informations sur les droits de l'homme et sur l'importance de la tolérance et du dialogue pour une société démocratique et pacifique, il soutiendra la création d'un réseau de jeunes militants et leur donnera les moyens de devenir actifs au sein de leurs communautés.
 
Il facilitera la création d'espaces de rencontre pour les membres de communautés touchées par la violence et les traumatismes.

Renforcement des capacités des thérapeutes et des conseillers en traumatologie dans le nord de l'Irak

Le projet consiste dans le renforcement des capacités pour les professions d'assistance dans le Nord de l'Irak et en Syrie.
 
Vingt-cinq professionnels locaux ayant une formation en psychologie seront formés pour fournir un soutien thérapeutique approprié aux personnes traumatisées et à leurs familles, et faciliter leur réintégration dans une société non violente.

Durée : 2023-2024
Budget 2023 : 50 K€

Six autres participants, qui ont déjà suivi une formation antérieure en thérapie des traumatismes, accompagneront le nouveau groupe de formation en tant que co-formateurs / facilitateurs et acquerront ainsi des connaissances et des compétences approfondies dans le domaine.